Morsi Adds Nine Cabinet Members

President Morsi added nine new Cabinet members today. Two of the new additions were members of the Muslim Brotherhood, giving the group 11 of the 36 Cabinet members.

While Information Minister Salah Abdel-Maqsoud and Interior Minister Mohamed Ibrahim remained in the Cabinet, the changes were seen as an attempt to improve Egypt’s negotiations with the International Monetary Fund regarding a possible loan.

Additions included: Amr Darrag as Planning Minister, Yehya Hamed as Investment Minister, Ahmed el-Gezawi as Agriculture Minister, Fayyad Abdel Moneim, Ahmed Suleiman as Justice Minister, and Fayad Ibrahim as Finance Minister.