First Stage of Shura Council Elections Begins

The elections for Egypt’s Shura Council began today. With polls opening at 8 a.m., the elections took place in 13 provinces: Cairo, Alexandria, Gharbia, Dakahlia, Monofeya, Damietta, North Sinai, South Sinai, Fayoum, Asyut, Qena, the Red Sea and the New Valley.

The next round of Shura Council elections will begin on February 14 in Giza, Qalyubia, Sharqia, Beheira, Kafr El-Sheikh, Ismailia, Port Said, Suez, Matruh, Beni Suef, Minya, Sohag, Luxor and Aswan.

Similar to the parliamentary elections, the first stages will take place over two days, but the run-off stages will take place only over one day each. Both the People’s Assembly and the Shura Council will be responsible for choosing a constitutional assembly.